Contact information

PO Box 858 Firestone, CO 80520

Hours: 9 - 5 M-F

Contributed by Josh Atherton, Executive Director St. Vrain Valley Schools Education Foundation

Neil Shupe, St. Vrain Valley Schools Teacher of the Year 2021

The St. Vrain Valley Schools Education Foundation held its annual Tribute to Teachers virtually on Friday, April 23rd via its YouTube channel and at to recognize outstanding teachers throughout St.Vrain Valley Schools. This awards program, sponsored by the St. Vrain Valley Schools Education Foundation, provides the opportunity for students, parents, volunteers, fellow educators, school staff, community members and business partners to recognize and honor individual teachers at the Pre-K – 12th grade levels in the St. Vrain Valley Schools who exemplify excellence in teaching. By paying tribute to teachers who have an extraordinary impact on the achievements of students, the Education Foundation and the community hope to honor the
accomplishments of all teachers. The Education Foundation received over 900 total teacher of the year nominations for over 500 teachers throughout St. Vrain Valley Schools. An all-volunteer committee reviewed nominations and selected a teacher of the year and two finalists for each school along with a St. Vrain Valley Schools District teacher of the year and four finalists. All recipients were recognized during the virtual Tribute to Teachers.

District Level Awards:

St. Vrain Valley Schools Teacher of the Year
Neil Shupe
Advanced Manufacturing Academy
Career Development Center
P.O. Box 2598 · Longmont · CO · 80502-2598
ph. 720-652-8208 ·

Teacher of the Year Finalist for Area 1
Nathan Wilcox
STEM and Robotics
Thunder Valley K-8

Teacher of the Year Finalist for Area 2
Jim Dornan
AP US History, Philosophy, Debate
Longmont High

Teacher of the Year Finalist for Area 3
Krystyna Farquhar
Special Education
Longmont Estates Elementary

Teacher of the Year Finalist for Area 4
Leigh Anne Emberg
Mead High

School Level Awards:

Teacher of the Year award winner for each school denoted with an asterisk.

Alpine Elementary

Michelle Drangeid
Erin Maldoff
Angie Saunders
Altona Middle
Rachel Arbor*
Trevor Platt
Cleveland Smith

APEX Homeschool

Karin Buckner*
Shelly Cox-Robie
Usha Narayanswamy
Aspen Ridge Preparatory
Ashley Allen*
Danielle Lombardi
Randi Parrott

Black Rock Elementary

Jennie Byers*
Lee Ann Longnecker
Lisa Mercier

Blue Mountain Elementary

Alyson Cook*
Jennifer Cruger
Amber Mault

Burlington Elementary

Brian Huey*
Ann Merritt
Jodi Willden

Carbon Valley Academy

Brittany Reddy*
Haley Ryckman
Rick Schineller

Career Development Center

Jim Asmus
Jennifer Moreno-Leyva
Neil Shupe*

Centennial Elementary

Regina Nicks
Kara Smallwood*
Amie Spendlow

Central Elementary

Erin Lange*
Marcia Marquez
Kirsten Palmer

Coal Ridge Middle

Nathan Abrahams
Maggie Bernardy
Elizabeth Denton*

Columbine Elementary

Meghan Andrews*
Samantha Reid
Jamie Schroeder

Eagle Crest Elementary

Karie Cooper
Nancy Dudley
Acacia Nadeau*

Erie Elementary

Keri Campbell*
Ami Larson
Brittany McKinsey

Erie Middle

Matthew Comeaux
Courtney Kowalewski
Lisa Stecina*

Erie High

Tori Curtis*
Kelsey Rasmussen
Jacob Rupp

Fall River Elementary

Allison Sampish
Dawn Wiley
Missy Wills*

Firestone Charter Academy

Keri Aasmundstad
Melanie Reese*
Corrin Wilson

Flagstaff Academy

William Camping
Sean Kemp*
Leha Moskoff

Frederick High

Mark Allen
Melissa Allen
Joseph Rein*

Grand View Elementary

Jennifer Ranweiler
Criket Weyand
Amy Zoch*

Hygiene Elementary

Suzannah Evans*
Sara Morison
Kendall Newell

Indian Peaks Elementary

Michael Botwinski
Amy Christopher*
Lynn Helmstetter

Innovation Center

Beth Cerrone*
Steve Kerchner
Jeffrey Lund

LaunchED Virtual Academy K-5

Amber Carter
Stephanie Streeter*
Amanda Warren

LaunchED Virtual Academy Middle

Amanda Fernandes*
Colin Sailor
Elana Wolfinbarger

LaunchED Virtual Academy High

Kate Lembo
Natalie Stotz*

Legacy Elementary

Nadine Fahlstedt*
Laura Lawrence
Erin Quakenbush

Longmont Estates Elementary

Breanne Bussard
Krystyna Farquhar*
Jessica Flannery

Longmont High

Jim Dornan*
Paige Heinrichs
Kelly Lubkeman

Longs Peak Middle

Caitlin O’Donnell*
Karen Olson
Melanie Scovill

Lyons Elementary

Pamela Browning*
Donna Evans
Sara Pike

Lyons Middle Senior High

Karen Gregg
Carolyn Smith
Allison Zema*

Main Street

Marley Baker
Kory Shick*

Mead Elementary

Sarah Bernau
Stacey Blick*
Shelly Luckow

Mead Middle

M.K. Mehsling
Megan Rubin*
Anna Youngs

Mead High

Leigh Anne Emberg*
Abigail Keohler
Rafaella Vaca-Tricerri

Mountain View Elementary

Shawn Germane
Robin Grabham*
Jennifer Grubbs

Niwot Elementary

Regan Burke
Madeline Cangilla
Jessica Easley*

Niwot High

David Ross
Laura Walters*
Kelly Yazzie

Northridge Elementary

Carly Hillmer*
Amy Moore
Jamie Simon

Olde Columbine High

Rob Halsey
Stephanie Keunzel*

Prairie Ridge Elementary

Lauren Massey
Nicholas Meyer*
Mindy Sandoval

Red Hawk Elementary

Patrick Burns
Daniel Currie
Shane Saeed*

Rocky Mountain Elementary

Natalie Knapp
Courtney Lawrenz*
Christina Wilson

Sanborn Elementary

Jennifer Connors*
Shawn Gregg
Tiffany Manzanares

Silver Creek High

Bryon Booher*
Jason Lathrop
Carmen Rubino

Skyline High

Maya Benko*
Jennifer Dunbar
Francisco Sandoval

Soaring Heights PK-8

Lizabeth Baldivia*
Brian Buckley
Nick Burrous

Spark! Discovery Preschool

Jess Harbison*
Nicky Willis

St. Vrain Online Global Academy

Kara Crossland*
Becky Olson

Sunset Middle

Priscilla Arasaki
Richard Johnston
Stephanie Texera*

Thunder Valley K-8

Angie Oram
Brittany Stewart
Nathan Wilcox*

Timberline PK-8

Kelly Brady*
Cassandra Gilbert
Rachel Kissner

Trail Ridge Middle

Tessa Anderson*
John Kraljic
Erin Smith

Twin Peaks Charter Academy

Shawna Darcy
Liz Milodardovich
Stephanie Sickau*

Westview Middle

Dan Cribby*
David Kline
Robert Mowry


St. Vrain Valley Schools Education Foundation, an independent 501 (c)(3) organization, was founded in 1985 by philanthropist Eleanor Flanders and a group of citizens to find a way to generate community and business support for St. Vrain Valley Schools programs. Today, our mission is to provide resources and educational opportunities, in partnership with St. Vrain Valley Schools and our local communities, to enhance student success and teacher excellence. Since inception, the Foundation has made awards totaling approximately $2 million with Teacher Innovation Grants and awards nearly $75,000 in scholarships each year to graduating St.Vrain Valley Schools seniors. The Education Foundation hosts the annual teacher recognition event “Tribute to Teachers,” the 2m/10k “Sunrise Stampede” that raises money for special education grants in SVVSD, and “Crayons to Calculators” which provides school supplies to students with a financial need. For more information, please visit, call 720-652-8208, or email at